Turning 26 Years Old- Gotta Run the Big One (The Marathon)

Tomorrow I turn 26. Holy potatoes.

20 Facts That Will Make You Feel Like Decades Passed While You Weren't  Looking

Actually, I am not surprised. Time never stops rolling along. The Buddha (and many others) have pointed out that we all get old and we all pass away at some point. Life is impermanent, at least from our understanding. What we do with our limited time is what matters.

Many older people seem to remark how quickly their lives went by when they look back.

In the grand scheme of things, 26 is not that old to many, but to others it may be.

I was thinking of making a list of goals to set for my next year of life as a 26 year old, but I will take some time to think about those off of here. One thing I have decided I want to try: RUN A MARATHON.

Pin by Morgan Anderson on MEME | Funny picture quotes, Funny dude, Old  school movies

The math makes sense, right? 26 years old= 26.2 miles

I ran in college and still run competitively at the local race scene (trying to make myself sound good here), but I have never run further than a half-marathon in one go.

This is a task I do not plan to take lightly. I refuse to go out there not having trained and prepared myself to try to run well (hopefully around sub 3 hours but we’ll see how training goes).

So, as I somewhat naively sit here optimistic and excited, I’m pumped for the challenge. And this is a very, very big challenge. I do not know when or where, but not until at least the Fall. I could use the later summer months to get in some heavier distance training.

Let’s go get it. I appreciate any well-wishes and positive vibes.

Leave a comment